All the inhabitants of the village of Almas, which was located on a wetland somewhere between today’s Temerin, Nadalj, Sirig and Srbobran, moved to the Petrovaradinski sanac (today’s Novi Sad) at the very beginning of the 18th century. They settled together on the then extreme periphery of the Novi Sad, on Suva greda, behind the last houses near the big swamp. During 1718, they formed their settlement in that area, which was named Podbara because of the swamp, and after the inhabitants, ie immigrants, from the village of Almas, Almaski kraj. Podbara was a poor area of the city, and its inhabitants lived in modest houses made of reeds, covered with mud and covered with reeds.
On the city plan from 1745, we see unusually winding streets and the inscription Almaski kraj. We also see Almaska Street, which even then led to the Almas Church. At the time there was a cemetery around the church, as well as around all the other churches in the city.
At the end of the 18th century, on the site of the old church we see on the city plan from 1745, a new and, at the time the largest church in the city, was built. It was consecrated in 1797. This church, which still stands today, was damaged in the bombing in 1849, so the roof of the tower was given an unusual and unique shape in the renovation.
Almaska Street has never changed its name, not even during the occupation in WWII. It is one of the very few streets in the city that never changed it’s name